My first kiss

I grew up pretty sheltered. My parents don’t drink or smoke or cuss, and I rarely encountered any of those things. My faith is a very important part of my life, although since going to college, it has changed a bit. It has become my own, rather than just being what my parents or siblings believed. I went to a small private school from pre-kindergarten through senior year, so my male classmates were either like brothers to me, drove me crazy, or simply were not my type… even though I don’t think I have a “type”. Whatever-basically, it wasn’t happening.

Yes, I knew guys from other schools and from church, but I never dated in high school. Sure I had my run in fifth and sixth grade when dating began and ended with a note passed in class. I definitely had liked several different guys during this time, but for one reason or another, it just didn’t happen. Since I’d waited so long to date anyone, I figured I should also wait to kiss anyone. Intentional or not, on the first day of college, I was a never been kissed virgin with very high morals who had never drank or smoked, nor had the desire to.

I went to frat parties every week and had so much fun. Over time, people knew not to offer me a drink, but everyone was cool about it. They knew I wasn’t judgmental (like some other people from my old school) and that I could have a lot of fun without the help of alcohol. I was the DD (designated driver) a lot, which honestly was a lot of fun. Some of my funniest memories stem from those experiences. A funny one that comes to mind while writing this:

I was taking a friend of mine from high school back to the dorms after he and the other people in my car had their fair share of beer and who knows what at a party. When dropping everyone off, my friend told me, “I would kiss you right now, but you’ve never been kissed, and I’m as drunk as a skunkkkkkk”. In his drunken stupor, he managed to respect me enough to know that wouldn’t be an ideal first kiss. It was so funny, especially if you knew him. Now the fact I hadn’t kissed anyone wasn’t super public, but it wasn’t something I was ashamed of. He had been a friend since freshmen year of high school and knew me really well.

Fast forward to second semester of freshman year…

I had been texting with this guy for a couple weeks, who I was really starting to like. He was really close with one of my new good friends from my sorority, who lived on my floor. He took her to a date party, and another one of their friends took me. The four of us went together, and it was pretty fun… it was an alumni banquet, so it was totally different than what I’d expected. Also, I borrowed a dress from a girl on my hall. Somehow I didn’t realize until putting it on the night of the date party that although we were similar in size, we were VERY different in bra size. My boobs felt like they were falling out. If I pulled it up to be a little more modest, it was borderline too short. It was too late to find another dress, so I just went with it, tugging and adjusting throughout the night, so my date’s parents, who were sitting across from us at the alum dinner, didn’t get flashed anytime I reached for my water. The four of us hung out after the date party (and after I had a chance to change), and I really started liking this guy. We’ll call him “the first” or TF. The first and I hung out several other times after that, and it was always so fun. We went to a party at his friend’s house one night, and as we were leaving, I decided to drive since he was drunk. The problem… he drove a stick shift… I don’t. So here we are, driving back to the dorms, he’s drunk, and I’ve never driven stick. Being so drunk, he was a horrible teacher-well, that and I’m hopeless when it comes to stick shifts. Needless to say, we stalled sooooo many times on main streets, and I’m surprised we weren’t pulled over. It was stressful but so funny, and I was so relieved when we made it back safely.

I got a call from him the night before my birthday, and he needed a ride home. He’d gone to a party with some friends and wanted to leave but hadn’t driven. It was pretty late, and I think it was already technically my birthday. I picked him up, and we decided to go to the student union where there’s a restaurant open 24/7. It serves a random assortment of food from cereal and muffins to grilled sandwiches. After we got some chicken strips, he moved to sit on the same side of the booth as me and was definitely much friendlier than before and a bit more hands-on. We decided to leave, and while walking outside to my car, holding hands, he pulled me close and kissed me. I was so surprised but loved it. I also didn’t want to be the weird people making out in front of the union. We got back in my car and kissed a little more. After driving around a bit, we ended up stopping in a random nearby neighborhood, and the make out session began. Fast forward a bit, and I’m straddling him in the passenger seat, making out like it’s our job. Someone walked by my car (it was like 3am… very weird), so we decided to call it a night. He lived in a different dorm building than me, so I went to drop him off. We talked quite a bit in the parking lot, which is when I realized how drunk he was. He’d totally played it off, and I was still very naive. We talked and talked, and after a long time basically came to the conclusion that it might not have happened if he’d been sober. There was a bit more, but that’s the bottom line of it-at least that’s what I interpreted his ramblings to mean. Well this was a huge slap in the face… and ON MY BIRTHDAY! I left, so upset, and went back to my dorm. We didn’t talk much after this. I ran into him at a date party a few days later, and we talked briefly. It was a toga party, and having his nasty chest hair near eye-level helped me get over him fast.

However, it made me realize how much I loved making out.

Oh and he refused to believe it was my first kiss, which was quite the compliment-and one that I received from the first few guys I made out with. They all called me out on lying about my inexperience, so I guess this is one of those innate gifts I have… too bad I can’t put that on my resume.

Until next time!

2 thoughts on “My first kiss

Leave a comment